Life After Graduating

Life

 

I started university and didn’t really think about the end, what am I going to do when I graduate? and yet this question has been coming up a lot since ill be graduating next year. I thought about it and considered how many other students this must stump, because we are going to get a job of coarse! It’s not that easy but don’t stress I had a chat with a fellow student from my university Bond whose been through life after graduation.

Alex is the new found creator of One Hive Creative a business with all your marketing and advertising needs, I thought since she is freshly a graduate ( October 2015) and now running her own business she could give you and me an insight to life after graduation and the work force!!

How did you find life after University ? 
I actually found it quite difficult to get into the advertising and marketing industry. I didn’t have any connections that could help me out, and I was spending so much time writing cover letter after cover letter and preparing for different interviews every week. I loved what I studied at University and couldn’t wait to put my skills and knowledge into practice but it was taking so long to get a job.

How was your business born ? 
It’s quite funny actually, in my mind I’ve always wanted to have my own business, but I always imagined I would be a 40 year old woman with my life together. You know, you always hear of these success stories of older women (and men) who don’t start making money out of their REAL passion until their 40+, so I naturally thought that would be the time for me.

I never connected my passion for creating and writing to something that could potentially earn money and put a roof over my head. It wasn’t until I started doing favours for friends, which then turned into paid work for the odd client here and there whilst working part time at a café then I realised something amazing was beginning. My partner and I started brain storming ideas for potential business names – preparing for the future… not for the present! Then a substantially big business heard about my work and contacted me asking if I could help them out. However, to pay me they needed an ABN – a term completely foreign to me at the time. During the ABN registration process, there was an option to add a business name. Now THAT was when One Hive Creative was born. All these ideas and visions started to inspire me. I could see it. I could see myself running a business at the age of 21 – something I would have laughed at about 5 months ago!

So basically, One Hive Creative was born out of circumstances, then a vision and then a lot of hard work. I like to think everything happens for reasons, so perhaps that’s why I was struggling so much to get a full time job.

What is/was your inspiration for the business name and branding ? 
Bees inspire One Hive Creative – to put it blankly. Not because I’m a big fan of bees, but because of the way in which they work together. Whenever someone asks where the name One Hive Creative came from, I always say to them; imagine a colony of bees working together to create the final product – honey.
And that’s how I see my business running – everyone working together to create the sweet final product.

When it comes to branding, I focussed on my own personality. I wanted a brand that I could easily connect to so I can speak from the heart and create work that truly resonates with my personal style. I’m a very luxurious person, I love fashion, luxe style and fitness, but I always centre myself at the beach. That’s where the soft, neutral colour palette comes into play. On another note, I think a great way to describe myself and One Hive Creative’s branding is with my favourite quote, from Gandhi, “In a gentle way, you can shake the world.”

How do you feel about Running your own business?
It’s fantastic. One Hive Creative is still in the very early stages but it’s one of the best decisions I’ve ever made. I have an entrepreneurial mindset so I definitely love it. Of course it doesn’t all smell of ‘honey’ and roses, I have to work incredibly hard – through the night and over the weekends but I’m doing something I love, so it doesn’t feel like a chore. Sure, running your own business comes with its challenges, and I’m still anticipating tougher challenges to hit me hard over the years, but it’s worth it, I wouldn’t have it any other way.

Did you find it difficult to come up with the brand and how did you go about setting everything up?
Definitely. I felt like I had an endless supply of ideas running around my mind and couldn’t find the direction I wanted to take. I came across an incredible woman, Jenna Lee Black whilst tirelessly searching for some type of direction and inspiration. Her guides helped me a lot. She’s all about embracing your own unique strengths and the impact you want to make in the world with your business. Once I got a clear vision on those two things, the brand started running a lot smoother and it felt a lot more natural and coherent. I highly recommend giving Jenna Black a search on Google.

Where do you see your business in a couple of years? 
I see my business changing the game and stretching limits. I’m all about gentleness and kindness and I believe that advertising isn’t most effective when it’s in everyone’s faces all the time. I see my business not only developing start-up businesses and working for big names in the fashion, fitness, beauty and lifestyle industries – but I see One Hive Creative helping not-for-profit organisations and using it’s services for good.

At the moment, it’s just me working (plus a lot of help from my partner), but I definitely see a huge potential for growth and employment opportunities.

What has helped you during the time of graduating to developing One Hive Creative ? 
I guess I finally experienced what the real world is like. I went straight from High School into University, so after graduating University, it was the first time that I had a lot of time on my hands (when I wasn’t working at the café). It made me realise how badly I want to make an impact and that the average life just doesn’t satisfy me, one bit.

What would your top tips be for Graduates? 
Follow your dreams (as cliché as that sounds). Anything is doable if you put your mind to it. Get rid of that self doubt and do what you do best. Don’t be afraid to show everyone how great you are! No matter how young or old you think you are, just stay on top of the game and keep hustling. Just because you’ve finished University, doesn’t mean it’s all over… that was just the warm up.

Any top tips for people wanting to start their own business? 
Follow your gut and follow your instincts. Do a lot of research, but also don’t stress too much about everything. There are people in different professions that can help you with the things that you’re not confident with – for instance finance, legalities or marketing. There are a lot of free resources on the Internet – give yourself some time to continue learning each day.

While it’s important to set everything up, don’t be afraid to just jump in. Otherwise you’ll be planning your business for years before the launch! And most of all venture into a business that you LOVE and are passionate about.

I’d like to give a massive shout out to Alex I had the wonderful pleasure of working with her at uni she is amazing and talented.

One hive Creative:

Instagram 

Facebook 

Don’t be afraid of that graduation day and continue creating yourselves

xx

Send me a smile :)

